top of page

Deprivation of Liberty Standards (DoLS)

This training gives us a strong knowledge of Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards and how they relate to the Mental Capacity Act. 

Our training covers five key areas:

  • Unit 1 – Defining Deprivation of Liberty: The Mental Capacity Act as well as a number of other acts and pieces of legislation. We cover capacity in detail and understand how this relates to DoLS.

  • Unit 2 – Identifying Deprivation: We look at deprivation and try to identify situations where people are restricted in what they do, we also cover forms of abuse and the Human Rights Act.

  • Unit 3 – DoLs and the five key principles of the MCA: We cover the 5 principles of the Mental Capacity Act and how these relate to DoLS. This helps us to understand the way we work with individuals is within the boundaries of the MCA.

  • Unit 4 – Authorising Deprivation: We cover how deprivation is authorised and when it is necessary to deprive someone of the freedom to carry out certain tasks. We learn the assessment process and help you to better understand when it is necessary to deprive someone of liberty. 

  • Unit 5 – Record keeping: Record keeping for Deprivation of Liberty Safeguarding is extremely important and something that is covered in our training. Communication, accountability and risk assessments will be covered in detail and the different records that must be kept when depriving someone of liberty.

This course does not relate to the care of children but is general training provided to improve knowledge.

Staff with this Certification

Committee Members with this Certification

bottom of page